top of page
  • Instagram
  • Spotify


Sara's Educational Blog
An English Teacher Candidate's Perspective 

A Day in the Life of a Movie Poster Creater!

Updated: Jan 14, 2023

Hey there my dear friends, I hope you're all good. Nice to see you again! Today is a great, but also a sad day, because guess what...This is our final task review! :/ I am very happy to present it to you but I will definitely miss venting to you every week! Anyways, let's talk about creating digital movie posters!



Our task was to choose between either creating a magazine cover or choosing a novel of our liking and create a movie poster based on it. I chose the novel Kindred, by Octavia Butler, since it is my favorite book ever! I discovered this book in my Literature class in the USA when I did my exchange year and haven't forgotten it since! I immediately started working on it according to the requirements of our teacher, which were really helpful.





Picture from here.


The instructions were to choose a novel we have read before, create a poster by putting the author's name as the director, our own name as the producer, cast names, two quotes from the book, a tagline and a rating. So, according to these guidelines, I created my poster. The first thing, and the most difficult probably, was to find a fitting picture. I found one on Pinterest, but had to make it fitting for the poster and crop it accordingly, which took some time. After that, I chose a tagline and put the novel's title in bold letters to make it stand out. Then, I added the other requirements, like two important quotes, my name and the author's, ratings and an actor of my liking. I really enjoyed the process and am proud of my movie poster. :)

Check it out!

Click here to check out my poster on Canva.

I used the tool Canva and can absolutely recommend it to you all. It is not only really easy to use for making posters but also offers a wide range of other things to create, such as videos, flyers, etc. When it comes to this task, I would also definitely recommend it and would probably assign it to my students one day as well. Like our last storytelling task, this also improves creativity to a great extent and it is fun!


Check Canva out and try it yourselves. Let me know what you think in the comments and see you next time for my final post! See you then, take care!


Love,


Sara Bal



21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page