top of page
  • Instagram
  • Spotify


Sara's Educational Blog
An English Teacher Candidate's Perspective 

Sixty Second Idea to improve the World: Podcasting!

Hello my dear friends! Long time no see! I hope you are all doing fine and I am so glad that you are here! Today I want to talk about an awesome digital experience I made, namely Podcasting. I am sure all of you know already what podcasts are and might even listen to or follow some podcasts themselves. For those who do not know: Podcasts are basically collections or series of audio files made available for downloading or listening on the internet. There can be various forms of podcasts, like stories, news, interviews, etc.



For my task I had to create a "60 second idea to improve the world" which is originally a really cool podcast series on BBC.

I thought this was a very interesting and creative idea to spread awareness about important topics! To start the working process, I initially listed all the topics I found interesting and could make an impact on the world. For me, the most important one, and the one I went with for my episode, was Veganism. You are very welcome to check out my Podcast and let me know what you think!





I started the process by collecting all the information I knew about vegan diets including advantages and did the appropriate research. Since I am pretty passionate about the topic, this was rather easy and quite fun for me! So after having done my research, I started to write my script which I would then crop and transform into my final script. The hardest part for me was probably limiting my script to 60 seconds since there are so many points that are important to talk about. However, I somehow managed to do so!



Let's talk about my opinion on this task. I thought this activity was so much fun is a really useful tool when it comes to language learning. That is why I would totally recommend my future students to not only listening to podcasts, but also the create ones themselves. I think, with the right guidelines and interesting topics, podcasting can be an enjoyable, creative and collaborative activity for students.


Although podcasting might be a bit of a technological challenge for some, with the right and simple tools, it can be so easy but yet so cool! What do you think about this topic? Would you assign such an activity to your students? Let me know in the comments!

Take care!


Love,


Sara Bal


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page