top of page
  • Instagram
  • Spotify


Sara's Educational Blog
An English Teacher Candidate's Perspective 

Becoming A Digital Author...

Hey my dear friends! :) Welcome back again, I hope you're all well and happy. I am so happy you are all here, because you can't imagine what awesome experience I'm going to talk about today. I might even say that this is my favorite digital experience so far, namely Digital Storytelling!


Out of three different options, creating a PSA, How to Projects and creating a fictional story, my partner Sena Haylamaz and I chose to create a digital story ourselves for our Educational Technologies class. Although we thought this would be a quite difficult process, we just jumped right into it, and it was just great!


We formed our group of two and started by brainstorming and therefore trying to create characters, scenes, and a plot for our narrative. This was probably the hardest part, since sometimes being creative is not as easy as one might think. However, after some attempts, we mutually created and agreed on our eventual topic. A girl who is unsure whether to listen to her heart or her mind when it comes to choosing between her dream university, which is out of town, or her boyfriend.



After having created the plot, me and Sena proceeded to write the script and create the storyboard on Pixton, a Comic & Storyboard builder. When we were done doing that, we simply decided to use iMovie, Apple's own video editor, to clip together the scenes and record our audios. This was actually a really fun process for me, since I love video and audio editing! Although there might have been some teeny tiny difficulties like keeping the story short, we really enjoyed this task.

A screenshot of one scene of our storyboard we created with Pixton!


Check out our video here!


I can confidently say that this is a task I would 100% assign my students, since it is not only fun and motivating as group work, but it also supports student's creativity and many more skills. I would strongly recommend you to try it as well and see for yourself!


Anyways, I hope you like our little story as much as I liked the working process! Let me know in the comments! Thanks for reading guys! Until next time, take care!


Love,


Sara Bal


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page