top of page
  • Instagram
  • Spotify


Sara's Educational Blog
An English Teacher Candidate's Perspective 

The End of an Era

Hey there my dear friends and welcome back! I hope you're all well and happy. I'm excited but I'm also quite sad, since this is my final post! Although I am excited to reflect on my learning process in the Educational Technologies class and as a Teacher Trainee, I will definitely miss trying out new tools every week and reflecting on them here with you all.


Before going into detail, I hereby want to thank my teacher Gökce Kurt for being such a great and helpful teacher and providing us with a huge variety of tasks. The whole point of this class was to create a blog for which we would write reflectional posts on different tasks and tools we got to try out.


I can confidently say that I learned quite a lot in this course and am happy I was able to take part as a foreign student. During my own school years, I was lucky to have experienced quite a lot of technology use, especially in my English class. We got to create films, digital posters etc. One can therefore say, that I have always been a fan, since it was so much fun and just something different and new in the classroom. However, there was not really such a huge variety in tasks and tools, which is why I chose the course Educational Technologies in the first place. I hoped to learn more about how to embed technology in the EFL classroom as a future English teacher and just brighten my horizon on what tasks and tools there are to use in the given context.


First and foremost I want to say that this course really challenged my creativity. Almost all the tasks we got required at least some creativity, which is obviously a good thing, but I think unfortunately nowadays, our creativity is neglected. However, I think it should be supported, which is why I really enjoyed the tasks. Furthermore, I really witnessed some progress in my research skills, organizing and planning skills, etc. Most importantly, I learned a lot about how to most effectively integrate technology into my future classroom, to make my students enjoy learning English.


Last but not least, I just want to mention that my absolute favorite task was to create a digital story with my friend Sena Haylamaz. Not only do I adore group work, but I also really enjoyed being creative and creating something so simple, but yet so fun and effective! I will 100% assign my students a similar task one day. I honestly liked all of the tasks given, but if I had to choose my least favorite one it would probably the Padlet. I liked the idea of it and it was fun creating it with my group, but since I am really passionate about the topic we chose, climate change, I kind of struggled to write "less" than I wanted to, but that is just a personal issue :D. Overall, I am happy I took this course and enjoyed all the assignments very much.


So, this is it guys. The end of an era. I am quite sad, but I am sure we will meet again friends. Thank you so much for taking your time and accompanying me on this journey, I appreciate all of you. I hope you enjoyed my posts and deeply wish, some of it might have helped you too as it did to me. Take care guys, until we meet again :)


Love,


Sara Bal


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page