top of page


Sara's Educational Blog
An English Teacher Candidate's Perspective 

My Wiki Experience

Updated: Dec 28, 2022

Hey my dear friends, this week I have tried out a very cool new activity I want to recommend to you all, namely creating Wiki posts! Initially, I was kind of confused since I have never done such a thing before and could not imagine what this would entail. Basically, wikis are databases or websites, collaboratively created by a community of users with every user being able to edit or add content.

Here, you can read more about Wikis in general.


For our task, we were supposed to collaboratively write a film review with a partner, on a film we chose ourselves, and post it on the class Wiki page created by our teacher. Like I already mentioned, I was puzzled when I first read the assignment, but after a little bit of research and the input of our teacher, I was ready and could not wait to start the process with my peer.



My friend Sena and I, chose the film "The Intouchables", a very famous French comedy-drama. It was not only a good movie choice because it was entertaining to watch, but it is also a true story with a very deep and touching meaning behind it, which is why we thought it would be a good educational film to use.


After having watched the movie, we decided to create a collaborative workspace, where we could share our thoughts, opinions and images we would want to use in order to initially collect everything. Eventually, we started our collaborative writing process and reviewed the film according to our instructions.


Picture taken from here.


All in all, I really enjoyed this activity and would totally recommend it to all of you. I think this is a great way to collaborate with peers in an educational way that benefits all participants. Not only is the working and writing process more fun with a partner, but it also increases the learning potential, communication and flexibility! I will definitely keep this tool in mind and try it out in the future with my own students! You should definitely too!


Do not forget to check out my friend Sena's blog!


See you soon and take care,


Sara Bal



10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page